New blogs added to blogroll

I just wanted to throw out a couple of blogs I’ve been reading regularly lately.  The first is Profuse and Various: Thoughts on music, teaching, and whatever else happens to strike me.  The author, Jazzman, has some fascinating takes on music education and, like me, being relatively new to the field the takes are refreshing!  He’s also asked some important and penetrating questions about some of the things I’ve posted here which is very helpful as a writer–knowing how clear I haven’t been, or just what things need more elaboration is always a good thing, IMO!

The other blog is by Bryan Townsend – The Music Salon who I discovered as he’s recently been posting quite often to Greg Sandow’s blog (with an updated look to boot!).  Bryan is unapologetic about Classical music while also understanding that there are significant factors which are shaping the decline of audiences (not the decline of Classical Music!).  I’m still reading (and re-reading) a number of his past posts and adding to the queue of ‘things to process‘ so it may take some time for me to find anything halfway intelligent to say about them, but there are a number of issues he’s brought up that complement many of the things I’ve posted about here.

And yes, I know my ‘blogroll’ is a mess and hope to get the different categories cleared up.  This new template is cleaner, but I’m not so sure it was as user friendly to navigate as the previous.  Until I have some time, it will stay as it is.

2 thoughts on “New blogs added to blogroll

  1. Thanks for the bump!

    Incidentally, we had a woman from Quebec do a West African drumming workshop at my school today. It’s always amazing to me to see what that particular tradition does to bring people into full and effective participation in music. All the ‘cool’ kids were doing the weird dance moves perfected by Ghana tribes, and no one was making fun of them. Absolutely amazing, and such a totally physical response-generated form of music.

    1. No problem!

      When I was in music school one of the local West African drummers (Prince Julius Adeniya) would bring his group to do workshops and a performance. I took one of those in ’95–the dance workshop. I’m one of those people who you could say has two left feet, but I and several other non-dancer students did the workshop and then proceeded to do the dance in performance later that evening to the live music of the musicians. It was a fabulous time and I hardly felt self-conscious!

      I think many more people should, and would, be open to these kinds of experiences if they had those opportunities! It doesn’t hurt that so much of African musics are a complete communal kind of experience–there are no spectators in most of those artforms!!

Leave a Reply

