Performance: il Troubadore @ Cafe D’jango

Cafe D'jango fliers with two of my bands back-to-back on consecutive nights!!

If you are reading this, it’s because it was written earlier today and set to future post as I will be performing at the Cafe D’jango in Bloomington (IN) when this autoposts.  Yeah, I know I was just there last night, but tonight it’s with il Troubadore.  The perks about being in multiple active groups is being able to do things like playing the same club more than one night in a row but never really repeating a piece or even musical style for that matter.

We’ll be performing from 8pm till 11:30pm tonight (18 March 2011).  Cover is $5 and the show is all-ages, as is usually the case with most of my gigs.

116 N Grant St
Bloomington, IN 47408-4026
(812) 335-1297
http://www.cafedjango.us/

Rather than give you the rundown as most of you’ve probably read my schtick about us two nights ago, I’ll say a couple of things related to what I said above and that was something I had meant to post about earlier this morning (but hadn’t).  This is so much related to the discussion I’ve been having regarding false dichotomies and such and something that has irked me for years to no end.  I’ve never formally written/blogged about it and haven’t thought about it too deeply but I’m seeing it in a new light now–or rather, I’ve always had the tools to understand some of how this works but never put the pieces together in this particular way before.

Here–rather than continuing to be cryptic–I’ll give you a short scenario.

Have you ever been in a conversation about music, or asked someone about what kind of music he or she likes only to get the response that “I like all kinds of music!”

Can any of you see where this is going?

Why this irks me so is usually because the descriptive elaboration of the response amounts to, say, a statement like the following, “I like rock, jazz, classical, funk, disco, bluegrass, etc,” which ends up being a list of the mainstream genres that are easily available and recognizable as such in the US (if not the whole Western world).

Take, for example, what a hypothetical [and equivalent in his assurance of his open-mindedness] person from Egypt who would elaborate with, “I like shaabi, muwashah, ala turka, waslah, rai, egyptian classical, etc” — probably all genres the person in the previous paragraph has never heard of, much less heard.

Sad thing it–this hypothetical person from Egypt would be infinitely more likely to also list, in addition to the indigenous genres, all the Western ones as well.  Such is the asymmetry of cultural knowledge when economic power brings with it cultural power and recognition.

Anyway, that’s a topic for another blog post.  But the other thing I wanted to mention (since I did say “a couple”) I cannot, for the life of me remember–apologies to you folks.  It’s been a busy week for me but I’ll probably remember what it was on the two hour drive to/from Bloomington tonight.  With luck I’ll remember, but even if not, I don’t think I’ll lack from subject matter to blog about, eh?  😉

Leave a Reply

