What if the concerto developed in Egypt rather than Italy?

This is what it might sound like.  Here’s cellist, Emad Ashour, performing Mohamed Abd El Wahab’s “Han El Wedd” at the Cairo Opera House with the Cairo Opera House Orchestra.  The conductor is  Seleem Sehab.

And performing Abd El Halim Hafez’s  “Asmar Ya Asmarany.”

There are some samples at Amazon.com of taqsims played by Emad Ashour:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_srch_drd_B0019BMA3Y?ie=UTF8&search-type=ss&index=digital-music&field-keywords=Emad%20Ashour

5 thoughts on “What if the concerto developed in Egypt rather than Italy?

  1. I was wondering anyone knew anything about Emad Ashour, or knew where a link to a biography was. I am doing a project for a world musics class where we have to pick some of our favorite songs from artists around the world. And I love this Egyptian Cello music I just can’t find any information on him to write about!

    Like

    1. Kylie, I wish I could help you but I’ve been unable to find much info (in English) about Mr. Ashour. I think, though, that I may start asking my Arabic musician friends what they know and I’ll get back to you as soon as I hear anything!

      Like

Leave a Reply

