Greek Fest Redux…

I’m still processing some of my experience from yesterday at the Panegyri Greek Festival in Cincinnati.  I had the pleasure of sitting in on dumbek with both George Haralamos’ and Lazaros Nourtsis’ bands.

Not only was it just wonderful to play all this great Greek music and for wonderful folk dancers–it was also wonderful to play for literally hundreds of people willing to line dance to Greek music.

This complements my experience last weekend with an Arabic/Arab-American crowd for the engagement party I played.  Just seeing so many ethnic audiences mixed with the more orthodox proportion of American ethnic groups coming together to enjoy music and tunes from another culture.

And yet, at the same time, this is now a part of American culture isn’t it?   That we have to constantly talk about “Greek Music” or “Arabic Music” shows that we still have this difference from “Aermican Music”–but why exactly isn’t this music ‘American Music’?  It’s music made in America, by Americans, for Americans, right?

Alas, things just don’t quite work out that way and I really want to get into this topic in this post–hah!

In the end, though, I could really care less–I’ll just keep calling myself a musician and keep making music.

Leave a Reply

