On programming a recital…

It’s been years since I’ve done a recital proper.  I’d been toying with the idea for some time now–the past couple of years to be exact.  What is sad is that I haven’t really had the time (still don’t) to prepare for one.  I’ve come to realize that there’s just no way that I will have the time giving my performing predilection.

Solution: make myself do a recital!

Now the interesting issue is what to play, and when to do it.

There’s obviously the practical issue of actually scheduling a recital first to give myself the incentive to practice for it.  That seems to be the route that most people take.  And seems to work for most people, but I’m probably best at putting things off even when I know I have a date coming up for which I have to practice.  Doesn’t matter how difficult the works, or how little time I actually do have, having an actual date just sometimes seems to make me want to procrastinate even more!

That aside, the only real issue is what to program.

I’ve toyed with the idea of doing some of the standards mixed with the less well known.  Something along the lines of doing the Kodály solo sonata and Cassadó suite with Chinary Ung‘s “Khse Buon” and Narong Prangcharoen‘s “Far from Home” is what I had in mind (and forgive me for listing Southeast Asian composer’s as the lesser knowns–I have personal reasons for them being the most salient to me).  Though given my musical activities the past few years I ammore inclined towards performing even less well known (among Classical Music circles) pieces in Art Music traditions from around the world.

The problem now is deciding on a theme, and making the program interesting from a pedagogical viewpoint as well.

One thought on “On programming a recital…

Leave a Reply

