the Zen of beating sheet metal…

Jon Silpayamanant performing as Noiseman433 at the Lemp Neighborhood Arts Center in St. Louis, MO (May 9, 2003)
Jon Silpayamanant performing as Noiseman433 at the Lemp Neighborhood Arts Center in St. Louis, MO (May 9, 2003)

“Art is not a mirror held up to reality, but a hammer with which to shape it”
–Bertolt Brecht

I think I’ll probably be adding a short noise set tonight in Lafayette. I miss this shit. I miss how playing with different frequencies can cause so many interesting physical as well as physiological effects. I love how playing with sub-harmonic frequencies can bring on the nausea; I love how the really high pitched noises can cause the eardrums to vibrate painfully. I love how you can feel noise as much, if not more, as you can hear it…

I remember when I first started playing in il Troubadore–after every show for the first few months I just wanted to beat on amplified sheet metal–it was almost as addictive as a drug…ugh…I need to start doing this regularly again.

 

_______________________
to hear some more noise, go here:
noisemp3.com/artists/noiseman433

One thought on “the Zen of beating sheet metal…

Leave a Reply

