>First Philippine Komiks Convention and other miscellanea

>First item
Komikon : 1st Philippine Komiks Convention October 22, 2005
will be held at the UP Diliman’s Bahay ng Alumni

It will showcase the creations of Filipino artists from various genres and themes and give tribute to the creators and their creations. The 1st Philippine Komiks Convention aims to bring together different comic book artists/groups and publishers in a venue where they could present their talents, works and services to the public. Most importantly, it aims to give a break to aspiring comic artists. It would like to provide the venue for different art groups and different generations of artists for a free exchange of ideas. Hopefully it would lead to a transcending of stereotypes and broaden the scope of comics – from local to international to cross-cultural, sequential to strips, amateur to professional and traditional publication to independent comics publishing. This event will give people the awareness of the exciting state of contemporary Philippine comics industry.

from:
Budjette Tan’s blog http://komix101.blogspot.com/

Second Item
If you haven’t noticed my side panel, I’ve been adding links and feeds to my http://del.icio.us/MaeMai account. Eventually I hope to have a separate feed and link category for every country or region that produces comics. Please bear with me as I sort through all the links I have bookmarked. Eventually I hope to have separate links/feeds for comics bloggers from around the world as well. I’ll get back to more heavy blogging as I get things sorted out.

Third item (warning *shameless promo*)
For anyone in the central Indiana area, I’ll be playing some shows this weekend. So come on out if you have the inclination.

Friday, September 16, 2005
il Troubadore
@ Deano’s Vino (third Friday of every month), Indianapolis, IN
8:00 pm::all ages::free admission
show details

Saturday, September 17, 2005
Carenza bint Asya & il Troubadore
@ Zorba’s Greek and Middle Eastern Restaurant (fourth Saturday of every month except for this special date), Zionsville, IN
6:30-9:30pm::all ages::free admission
show details

Sunday, September 18, 2005
Left of Center
A Concert of Alternative Art Music for those not so easliy entertained featuring:
Kevin Hiatt, Joseph Kalisman, Diane Dickson, Patrick Woods, il Troubadore, Jim Steele and Michael Patterson, Troupe Taleeba middle eastern dance troupe
@ Cinema Center, Fort Wayne, IN
8:00 pm::all ages::admission 10$
show details

Fourth item
I’ve set up a separate blog, Phantoms of the Mind, so that I can do more in depth analyses and criticisms of a comparative neurolinguistic sort. I didn’t want to clutter up this blog with too much content not related to International Comics topics, but needed a place that I could refer to when a discussion does happen to bear on current scientific research done regarding reading/writing, language, and the neurological underpinnings of these phenomena.

If you’re wondering why all that matters to me, well, it will be part of the focus of my Master’s thesis and it is already ostensibly an extension of my undergraduate thesis on The ethics of Performance Practice in music.

Fifth item
I know that I’m in the middle of a few discussions that I’ve not responded to the past couple of days, but I promise to get back to them as soon as I can. Many apologies.

Peace,

Jon

Leave a Reply

